Thankfulness-Joy-Strength

ImageAfter a two long days with a short night in between, it can be so tempting to let your guard down. “I just had a long day.” “I’m so tired.” “I just am not feeling well.” “You don’t know what my week has been like…” like somehow people really should just understand. But reality is that they rarely do, especially when you work in customer service.

My job can be draining both physically and mentally. And there are days that it’s all that I can do to be civil to customers. The Bible says that there is only one thing desired of a man and that is kindness. (Proverbs 19:22) What does it take to simply be kind after a long day or week? One of my favorite excuses is, “I was at work at 5 this morning.” This is supposed to justify my lack of grace toward people.

I believe that we have a higher calling because we represent the Lord Jesus Christ to those around us. It is easy to forget. It’s easy to ignore. But that is the truth of it. The good news is that we don’t have to do it on our own.

Nehemiah 8:10b “Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”

His joy is my strength. When I’m grumpy or irritable or just plain tired, He has strength in the package of joy. When I am short of strength or temper, I have Him to turn to. He is my Friend, my Daddy, my number one Fan, my King. And He is always there for me.

Psalms 16:11 “You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

Joy isn’t something you snap in and out of. But it is a choice. And the choice is to step into His presence. Fullness of joy is there. That joy strengthens on the hardest of days.

Psalms 100:4 Enter into His gates with thanksgiving, and into His courts with praise. Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.

This is the progression for me on rough days. I have to decide to be thankful. (My strategy is to find 5 things that I am thankful for.) That alone goes a long way for me in changing my attitude. Thankfulness ushers me into the courts of my King. The place where He lives. His Presence. In that throne room is the fullness of joy that I seek.

My remedy for a long or hard day?

Thankfulness
Image

One thought on “Thankfulness-Joy-Strength

  1. I needed this today. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

