Brain-Washed

ImageRomans 12:2 “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.“

Just a quick thought for today. Don’t be conformed. The world tries to tell us how to think. The Bible says to wash our minds with the water of the Word (Ephesians 5:26).

It is so easy to pick up concepts from the world. “It’s Monday.” “It’s raining, so I’m depressed.” “I’m just having a bad day.” The world has its own way of thinking on marriage: if it doesn’t work out, find someone else. On friends: you’re my very best friend until you cross me, and then I won’t speak to you again. It’s all about the temporary, the here and now. Do what feels good right now. If it doesn’t feel good, it must not be right.

Think about it. It is so easy to pick up these ways of thinking that are contrary to the way of Christ. How do we counter them? How can we “be transformed by the renewing of our minds”?  Let the Word of God wash over your mind.

Sometimes it is best to just read a couple of chapters and let it change our minds. I always try to pray before I read, “Lord, change my mind today. Adjust my thinking to line up with your Word and not the other way around.” It helps me to focus as I read.

That is one of the main reasons why we as Christians need the Word, why we need to feed on it every day. Sometimes one verse to chew on is just what we need. But sometimes just reading, and a lot, to let it wash over our minds is the best thing we can do. The world will try to brain wash you. It will try to get you to agree with its concepts. But instead, let the Word of God change the way you think.

Leave a Reply

