Well Pleasing

I see all kinds of people every day with my job. I see wealthy business people and stay at home moms. I see high school and college students. And it can be so easy to size someone up at first glance and allow a little envy in.

“She is so pretty.” “He is so well off.” “She always has the cutest clothes.”But it is always interesting to me when one of these people will open up or vent on their life. They are so empty. They are so often broken and hurting. Very rarely do I run across one of these people that is truly content with their life. They always wish for something different.

Proverbs 23:17-18 “Do not let your heart envy sinners, but be zealous for the fear of the Lord all the day; for surely there is a hereafter, and your hope will not be cut off.”

We have the Lord. Why would we want what the world has to offer? It can offer only the temporal. When it all comes down to what really matters, who is the rich one? Who is well off and blessed beyond what they could ask for?

We as Christians can’t allow that envy to creep in and make us despise the things of the Lord. There is so much more than mere material things. We live to please the Lord. When we start living to please other people, it gets hard. It gets really hard.

Fear of the Lord is weighing God’s opinion in what we are doing. What the best decision is for our day, He knows. Be zealous. Be passionate to please Him. There is nothing greater than putting a smile on the face of God.

I want to get to heaven and hear those words, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” But I don’t think that I have the chance to if I am constantly comparing my life to the world. I won’t hit the mark, and I doubt very much that I will be well pleasing to my King.

What do you want to hear when you stand before your Lord? How does that affect the way that you think about daily life? What will you do from here on out?

Leave a Reply

