Are You Content?

I was reading through an old journal this afternoon and was very encouraged by it. It was from two years ago when the Lord was teaching me a lot through His Word. Allow me to share it with you today.

Philippians 4:11-13 “Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Whatever state: lonely, hungry, sad, happy, full, tired, in the limelight, at home, at work. Whatever is going on emotionally, contentedness takes precedence. Do I know how to be at the bottom of the barrel and be content? Do I know how to have everything I need and be content, not wanting more?

These things I can do through the Lord’s strength. He is so faithful to fill us with His Spirit when we’re hungry; to fill us with His strength when our souls are weak.

When my mind is tired, He gives me the mind of Christ. When my emotions run out, He fills me with His love. When I give up my will, He fills me with a might inner strength. The mind of Christ, full of His love and His inner strength: this is how I am to live and walk every day.

Today this was a fresh reminder for me. Do I find myself content in my season of life? Do I catch myself wishing for something else? It can be so easy to get discontent at work or at home. The key, I believe, is prayer and staying close to God.

Paul the Apostle wrote this passage. He went through more in his lifetime that most Christians would in twelve lifetimes. Yet he knew how to rely on the Lord, no matter where he was at. Prayer strengthens and gives the courage to keep going.

Christians today turn to God in the hard times. They will spend tons of time reading the Bible and praying when times get tough. But what about the good times? Do we remember all that He has done for us? Or do we allow our hearts to become discontented and start complaining?

Let’s remember the Lord today. I’m no expert, trust me. I’m preaching to the choir today. But let’s be known as a generation that knew their God, a generation that sought Him no matter the circumstance. Let’s learn to pray in every season of life.

One thought on “Are You Content?

  1. Jason Cole says:

    That Philippians 4 scripture is one of my favorites! I think it should go hand-in-hand with Philippians 3:14 “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” In order to truly be happy in what so ever state you’re in, it helps if you remember what LIFE truly is all about. It’s so easy to get sidetracked with all of life’s temporal woes that we forget what it is really pressing towards. Your blog is refreshing. Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

