New Year’s Resolutions

20130104_161652

Proverbs 22:29 “Do you see a man who excels in his work? He will stand before kings; He will not stand before unknown men.”

New years: a time for resolutions, weight-loss, and new beginnings…

I saw a set of pictures the other day that depicted it perfectly. The first was labeled ‘December 31st’ and was of an empty gym. The second was of the same gym packed full of people, labeled ‘January 1st’.

The start of a new year gives us the feeling of newness. But by February or March the gym will be empty again, the goals set on the shelf, and diets abandoned. And we will wait eleven months to try and start again.

My challenge this new year is to set goals that are both measurable and attainable. Along with that, I am making daily steps toward those goals. For example: say I want to improve my skill on the piano and keep my house cleaner. That is an example of a “New Year’s Resolution”, but they are not measurable so how will I know when I attain them?

My next step will be to make them measurable. Piano: I want to be able to sit down and sight-read any mid-level piece without having heard it before. This is a more measurable goal. Now, to make daily steps to meet this goal; I am making a plan to practice 3-4 times a week and to practice sight-reading specifically. Maybe I will go and purchase a new mid-level music book. I am slowly working toward the goal that I set.

The other resolution was to keep my house cleaner. How do I measure when my house is ‘cleaner’? cleaner than what? So, I start simple. This was a hard one to set a goal to, so I made daily goals. Every day I make two tasks for myself to complete before I go to bed. Depending on my work schedule, they will be easier or more difficult. This last week one day I set for myself to wash my sheets and put away all the clean laundry, another day was to complete two loads of laundry and deep clean my tile floors. This way I can look back over the last week and see what I have accomplished.

On a side note, when you set goals and tasks to work toward them, it can be very effective to have a partner in them. My husband keeps me accountable for the things that I have said that I want to improve in. It can be a spouse, a friend, a sibling, a parent, coworker… anyone that you are close to. Tell them what you are doing and ask them to help you hit your goals.

Back to the verse at the beginning of this post; I was challenged to excel in what I do. There aren’t many things that I am really good at. It is easy to get to a point and get comfortable knowing what little I do. But I want to be excellent in what I do. I want to stand before kings. I don’t want to be like the rest of America that will abandon their New Year’s Resolutions in a month or two.

Let me challenge you to stick to it. It is worth the work. Set those goals, make them measurable and attainable. Check back in May and see how far you’ve come.

Leave a Reply

